Good Morning Ludwig, 2012

© Courtesy of the Artist

Multi-channel audio work encoded for 47 channel The Morning Line Sound System
30 min
Commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary 

Good Morning Ludwig is an electronic music composition made up of a set of linked quasi-symphonic variations on Beethoven’s Coriolanus overture. Conventionally scored, sampled, orchestral instruments are subsequently electronically transformed into new instruments in differing spatial positions. Some 20 regions in a 3-D space are designated as diagonally opposed, monophonic pairs, of an orchestral ensemble. These are manipulated so that, during the performance, a shifting spatial environment is experienced. 23 minutes long, It was specifically composed for the TBA21 multi-spatial sound space at ZKM, Karlsruhe. The piece is dedicated to Tony Myatt.

*1933 in United Kingdom